Contact & Team

Workhome Project, Sir John Cass Faculty of Art, Architecture and Design
London Metropolitan University
Central House
59–63 Whitechapel High Street
London E1 7PF

Tel: +44 (0)20 7320 2826

Key staff

Dr Frances Holliss, Director

Prof Colin Davies

Bob Barnes

Angela Lee


Edouard Rochet
Sara Dabouni
Alan Benzie
Craig Harrison-Smith
Andrew Parry

Industry partners

Oliver Rehm, Director
Baufritz [UK] Ltd

Louise Goodison, Director
Cazenove Architects

Peter White, Director
Fresh Life Company

Vivienne Nichols, Director, Newlon Fusion
Newlon Housing Trust

Academic partners

Carol Wolkowitz
Department of Sociology, University of Warwick

Paul Egglestone
School of Journalism, Media and Communicatio, University of Central Lancashire

Steering Group

David Kohn, Director
David Kohn Architects

Jane McAllister, Senior Lecturer
Faculty of Architecture and Spatial Design,
London Metropolitan University

Dr Jo Foord, Senior Research Fellow
Cities Institute, London Metropolitan University

Sue Bagwell, Research Manager
Cities Institute, London Metropolitan University

Thanks to

The AHRC for their support in the form of a two year Knowledge Transfer Fellowship and ongoing follow-on funding from the Connected Communities Fund.

The Cities Institute and Faculty of Architecture and Spatial Design, London Metropolitan University for their institutional support throughout the project.

Our Partners in Industry, Oliver Rehm, Louise Goodison and Peter White for their critical support and encouragement throughout the project.

Our Steering Group, David Kohn, Jane McAllister, Jo Foord and Sue Bagwell, for steering us well.

Our architectural assistants Edouard Rochet, Sara Dabouni, Alan Benzie, Craig Harrison-Smith and Andrew Parry

Polimekanos for designing our identity and website

Cyril Sweett PLC for help with costings

The following individuals for a variety of much-appreciated contributions: Stuart Cameron, Howard Davis, Guy Denton, Gabriel Djilali, Carrie Ede, Graeme Evans, James Firman, David Grandgorge, Richard Hands, Eike Harder, Adam Hart, Rex Henry, Maya Holliss, Ruben Holliss, Chris Hosegood, Viktor Jak, Ellie Jauncey, Cat Jeffcock, Dennis Lu, Jane McAllister, Andrew McSmythurs, Robert Mull, Suzy Nelson, Angie Pascoe, Graham Pendlebury, Amanda Potts, Clare Redwood, Chi Roberts, Daniel Serafimovski, Barry Shaw, Antje Witting.

And the 76 participants in the underlying research, without whom this project would not have been possible.

We would also like to acknowledge the US-based work of Prof Penny Gurstein, UBC, and Tom Dolan, Live-work Institute. This provided one of the starting points for the UK-based research that has resulted in this Workhome Design Guide.



Mailing List